Chicago orders 14-day quarantine for travelers from NC


CHICAGO (WNCN) – An emergency travel order in Chicago went into effect Monday that mandates a 14-day quarantine for people arriving in the city from 15 states – including North Carolina.

Mayor Lori Lightfoot signed the public health order over the weekend that mandates a quarantine from states with a case rate greater than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7-day rolling average.

That applies to 15 states currently:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The mayor did not reveal how the mandate will be enforced but it could lead to fines of $500 per day up to $7,000 total.

The order says individuals with a negative test result must still quarantine for 14 days.

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut have also put similar orders in place.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sponsored Content
Visit Buy Local

Trending Stories