Wake County Schools names 10 finalists for Teacher of the Year

Wake County News
teachers copy_1554345820968.jpg.jpg

RALEIGH, N.C. (WNCN) – Wake County Schools Superintendent Cathy Moore helped announce the 10 finalists for Teacher of the Year Wednesday with a “Surprise Patrol.”

Moore delivered a “dream basket” to each of the finalists as they were selected from more than 10,500 teachers across the district. 

The finalists are:

  • Wendy Branch, Grades 9-12 Math, Longview High
  • Kelly Denny, Grades 1-5 Cross Categorical Resource, Lead Mine Elementary
  • Toiya Dunbar, Grades 6-8 Fine Arts Band & Chorus, East Garner Magnet Middle
  • Lindsey Evans, 8th-Grade Social Studies, Apex Friendship Middle
  • Michael Grether, World History/Human Geography, Rolesville High
  • Josh Gurkin, Science, Physics and Chemistry, Apex High
  • Julia Huffman, 8th-Grade Language Arts, Carroll Magnet Middle
  • India Kingsberry, 6th-Grade Math, East Millbrook Magnet Middle
  • Lindsay McKee, 6th-Grade Math and Science, Pine Hollow Middle
  • Melissa Richer, Spanish, Holly Springs High

Each candidate was nominated and elected by their peers at their schools. 

The nominees then had to produce an “e-portfolio” and short video showing their work. 

The nominees were narrowed to 20 in February. 

Each of the 10 finalists must appear before an interview committee for the selection of the Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year for 2019-2020 will be announced May 9 at 6:30 p.m. at the Raleigh Convention Center.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories