RALEIGH, N.C. (WNCN) – State political leaders released information Monday on how parents can make sure they get their stimulus money included in a COVID-19 relief bill signed into law by Gov. Roy Cooper earlier in the month.
According to the bill, eligible recipients need to have been a resident of North Carolina for the entire 2019 calendar year. They also must have reported at least one child on their state tax form who is 16 years old or younger.
Taxpayers who reported at least one qualifying child on their 2019 state individual tax income return will receive the payment automatically, a news release from Rep. John Bell (R) said.
However, some residents who weren’t required to file a return are still eligible. They must apply through the North Carolina Department of Revenue. The deadline to apply is Oct. 15, the release said.
Each qualifying family or individual who meets the income requirements will receive a one-time direct payment of $335. There is no minimum income requirement. The maximum threshold is $440,000 for joint filers and $240,000 for single-filer and heads of households. NCDOR will issue payments no later than Dec. 15. Payment details will be posted on the NCDOR website as soon as they’re available, the release said.
The $1 billion relief package also included, among other items, an extra $50 in unemployment benefits through the end of the year.
More headlines from CBS17.com:
- 22-year-old charged with girlfriend’s murder in West Knoxville shooting
- 1 dead in motorcycle crash along S. Saunders St. near I-40 in Raleigh, police say
- Vendors grateful for opportunity presented by NC State Fair food event
- Triangle law enforcement issuing very few citations as COVID-19 cases continue to increase
- Pregnant ESPN reporter fires back after ‘troll’ tries to body-shame her
For more stories like this that matter to you, click here to download the CBS 17 News app for free.
Watch live newscasts, get breaking news and sign up for push alerts – download now