eye on the storm

Shelters open across NC as Hurricane Florence pounds the coast

Eye On The Storm
wake co shelter_1536695796499.png.jpg

Below is information about shelters across the state:

Nash and Edgecombe counties announced Tuesday afternoon locations that will serve as shelters during Hurricane Florence, a press release said.

In Nash County, locations will be:

Nash Central High School, located at 4279 Nash Central High Rd, Rocky Mount.

Southern Nash High School, located at 6446 Southern Nash High Rd., Bailey.

Shelters in Edgecombe County will be:

D.S. Johnson Elementary School, located at 600 N. Fairview Rd., Rocky Mount.

North Edgecombe High School, located at 7589 N.C. 33-NW, Leggett.

Tarboro High School, located at 1400 Howard Ave., Tarboro.

Martin Millennium Academy, located at 400 E. Johnston St., Tarboro.

GW Carver Elementary School, located at 604 E. Hamlet St., Pinetops.

All shelters in Nash and Edgecombe counties open at 6 p.m. on Wednesday.

In addition to those, the following counties will also be operating shelters:

Chatham County will open two shelters on Thursday at 7 p.m.:

Northwood High School, located at 310 Northwood High School Road, Pittsboro

Chatham Middle School, located at 2025 S. 2nd Ave. Ext., Siler City). Officials warn that residents should make arrangements for their pets because Northwood High only has limited space for cats and dogs.

Cumberland County will have the following shelters:

Kiwanis Recreation Center, located at 352 Devers Street, Fayetteville

Mac Williams Middle School, hit capacity late Thursday night (see below)

Pine Forest High School, located at 525 Andrews Road, Fayetteville

Seventy-First High School, located at 6764 Raeford Road, Fayetteville

South View High School, located at 4184 Elk Road, Hope Mills

Smith Recreation Center, located at 1520 Slater Ave., Fayetteville

W.T. Brown Elementary School, located at 2522 Andrews Church Road, Spring Lake

The shelter at Mac Williams Middle School along Clinton Road in Fayetteville hit capacity late Thursday night with 105 people. Transportation is being provided to other shelters.

As of 11 a.m. Friday, 561 people signed into the seven shelters open in the county, officials said.

Residents in low-lying areas of Cumberland County are encourage to seek higher ground. 

County officials warned residents near the Cape Fear River that they should “consider voluntarily evacuating the area” due to flooding threats.

Anyone who needs assistance with transportation to one of the shelters should call 910-678-7657. Transportation will be coordinated until 8 p.m. Thursday with the Fayetteville Area System of Transit (FAST). Regular FAST services have been suspended.

The shelters at Pine Forest High School and South View High School will have pet accommodations.

Durham Public Schools will work with its partners in city and county emergency management to open shelters at select schools, a press release said.

Franklin County is reopening their shelter at the Louisburg Senior Center at 3 p.m. Thursday. The shelter is located at 127 Shannon Village. It was closed Saturday at 10 a.m.

Harnett County will open shelters at 8 p.m. Thursday located at Triton High School (215 Maynard Lake Road, Erwin – this shelter will have provisions for pets) and Overhills High School (2495 Ray Road, Spring Lake).

Johnston County already has one full shelter at North Johnston Middle School. The following shelters are open and have room, officials say:

Benson Middle School at 1600 North Wall Street in Benson

Clayton High School at 600 South Fayetteville Street in Clayton was closed by Johnston County officials at 9:30 a.m. Saturday. Those seeking shelter can go to North Johnston Middle School in Micro, located at 435 Oil Company Road.

West Johnston High School (Pet-Friendly) at 5935 Raleigh Road in Benson

Hoke County has shelters open at:

Don Steed Elementary School, located at 800 Phillipi Church Road, Raeford, has a pet shelter on site.

Sandy Grove Middle School at 300 Chason Road in Lumber Bridge, however, no pets are allowed and it does not have special needs assistance.

West Hoke Middle School at 200 Aberdeen Road, Raeford, however, no pets are allowed and it does not have special needs assistance.

A shelter at Hoke County High School, located at 505 S. Bethel Ave., Raeford, will open at 7 p.m. Thursday.

Moore County has a shelter that opened at 3 p.m. Thursday at North Moore High School, 1504 North Moore Road in Robbins. It is pet-friendly, officials say.
Another shelter in Moore County is Moore County Agriculture Building at 707 Pinehurst Ave. in Carthage.

Orange County has two shelters that opened Wednesday and are located at Smith Middle School (9201 Seawell School Road in Chapel Hill) and CW Stanford Middle School (308 Orange High School Road in Hillsborough).

Sampson County has nine shelters open. They are located at:

Clinton High School (340 Indian Town Road)

Hobbton Elementary School (12361 Hobbton Highway, Newton Grove)

Hobbton Middle School (12081 Hobbton Highway, Newton Grove)

Hobbton High School (12201 Hobbton Highway, Newton Grove)

Midway High School (15274 Spivey’s Corner Highway, Dunn) 

Lakewood High School (245 Lakewood School Road, Salemburg)

Plainview Elementary School (4140 Plain View Highway, Dunn)

Roseboro Elementary School (180 Butler Island Road, Roseboro)

Sampson Middle School (1201 West Elizabeth Street, Clinton)

Wake County has a shelter open at Knightdale High School at 100 Bryan Chalk Lane. It opened Tuesday at 2 p.m. It is pet-friendly, a release said. There is another shelter open at Southeast Raleigh High School located at 2600 Rock Quarry Road.

Three new shelters were opened Thursday afternoon:

Heritage High School, 1150 Forestville Road, Wake Forest

Middle Creek High School, 123 Middle Creek Park Ave., Apex

Sanderson High School, 5500 Dixon Drive, Raleigh

Wayne County now has seven shelters open — one for pets and four for people. Pets can be placed at the Wayne County Animal Shelter (1600 Clingman Street, Goldsboro). Residents are asked to call the shelter at (919) 731-1439 to make arrangements. The shelters for residents are located at Wayne Academy (801 N. Lionel St., Goldsboro), Spring Creek High School (4340 Indian Springs Road, Seven Springs), Carver Elementary School (400 Old Seven Springs Road, Mount Olive), and Tommy’s Road Elementary School (1150 Tommy’s Road, Goldsboro).
Two new Wayne County shelters opened on Thursday: Mount Olive Middle School at 309 Wooten Street in Mount Olive and Spring Creek Middle School at 3579 NC 111 in Seven Springs.
Carver Elementary School in Mount Olive is full and can no longer accept those seeking shelter.


Lee County has established a county-wide curfew effective at 9 p.m. on Thursday that will last until the curfew is either rescinded or amended. This curfew applies to the City of Sanford. 

Unincorporated areas of Cumberland County are still under a curfew from sunset to sunrise until further notice. 

Hyde County has a curfew that runs from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. until further notice.

A curfew is in place in Sampson County that runs from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. until further notice.  

Rocky Mount’s curfew hours will be effective Thursday from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m.; Friday from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. and Saturday from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Wayne County and Goldsboro officials announced a curfew from 9 p.m. until 6 a.m. until further notice.

To submit a shelter, please email newstips@cbs17.com.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Local News
More National News
More Weather
More Sports
More Check This Out
More Wake County News
More Durham County News
More Cumberland County News
More Johnston County News
More Orange County News

Don't Miss